Skip to content

Life and Lupus

December 14, 2011

Hello to every one! Call me Lady Lu. I was diagnosed with Lupus in 2008 at the age of 17. I did not even know what it was when I was diagnosed with it, which explains the poll! I am just curious to know how many of you are familiar with this chronic illness. I hope that as I share my story, I also educate others about this condition, provide comfort for those in search of it, and establish a support system for those of us who need it. Living with lupus is not easy, but having others there to hear us out makes things much better.

This summer of 2011 I got a bad flare, which means that my condition worsened. I could not return to school so I have been sitting at home feeling helpless and worthless. Like life dumped me on the side of the road and I am just sitting here watching every one pass me by. Well… I decided that I will no longer sit around. This condition will not define or predetermine my future. I am only twenty years old and I have decided that I have a successful life waiting for me to just pursue it.

I am reinventing myself and redefining my life. My blog will be an insight of what it is like living with lupus. It will be the story of a young girl’s struggle to find her place in the world. To become self sufficient. My struggle to  find the energy to live despite having a condition that threatens to devour every bit of energy and leaves swollen joints to show for it. It is also a space to establish a network for others who have this condition, know some one who does, or simply want to support us!

I want to hear your comments! and spread the word!

From → Lupus and Life

3 Comments
  1. Thanks for following my blog! I am glad to see you deciding to live your life despite your challenges. It can be hard , but it’s totally worth it. We’ll still have bad days, but we’ll have some good ones too, and although we might have lupus, lupus does NOT have us! (Hugs) 🙂

  2. Nicely said! I am ready to take this condition head on. I strongly believe that it is through our mental health that we can achieve greater health. Lupus is not contagious, but your optimism is! 😛

  3. I am in awe of your outlook. Keep telling your tale.

Leave a comment